Connect with us

Best Fifa Football Awards 2019: Lionel Messi Beat Ronaldo & Van Dijk To Win The Award

Best Fifa Football Awards 2019: Lionel Messi Beat Ronaldo & Van Dijk To Win The Award


Barcelona’s talisman Lionel Messi as been named Fifa’s The Best men’s player of 2019 at a ceremony in Milan, beating Virgil van Dijk and Cristiano Ronaldo to the prize.

It is the sixth time Messi has been voted the best player in the world.

Van Dijk’s Liverpool teammate Alisson Becker won the men’s best goalkeeper prize while their manager Jurgen Klopp was named best manager and used the stage to announce his commitment to Common Goal, a charity founded by Juan Mata pledging one per cent of salaries to charity.

The women’s best player was named as Megan Rapinoe, the US star who helped to win the World Cup this summer. She beat her US teammate Alex Morgan and England’s Lucy Bronze to the award. 

Fifa The Best awards 2019

Men’s player – Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina)

Women’s player – Megan Rapinoe (Reign FC and United States)

Men’s coach – Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool)

Women’s coach – Jill Ellis (United States)

Men’s goalkeeper – Alisson Becker (Liverpool and Brazil)

Women’s goalkeeper – Sari Van Veenendaal (Atletico Madrid and Holland)

Puskas award – Daniel Zsori (Debrecen/Fehervar)

Fan award – Silvia Grecco (Palmeiras)

Fair play award – Marcelo Bielsa and the Leeds squad

FIFPro men’s world XI – Alisson; Matthijs De Ligt, Marcelo, Sergio Ramos, Virgil Van Dijk; Frenkie De Jong, Eden Hazard, Luka Modric; Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappe, Lionel Messi

FIFPro women’s world XI – Sari Van Veenendaal; Lucy Bronze, Nilla Fischer, Kelley O’Hara, Wendie Renard; Julie Ertz, Amandine Henry, Rose Lavelle; Marta, Alex Morgan, Megan Rapinoe.

Continue Reading
You may also like...
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

To Top